top of page

Owen Paul

As a youngster, Owen Paul was taken on as an apprentice with the football club Celtic, but after hearing the Sex Pistols he decided to pursue a career in music. In the early 80s he played and sang with Glasgow band Venigmas, which released the single "Strangelove".

In 1986 he recorded his storming version of  "My Favourite Waste of Time" which became a huge success hitting the number 3 position in the UK. The track featured an appearance from future Thunder bass player Mark 'Snake' Luckhurst. After releasing a couple of singles and the album As It Is, he had a falling out with his record label, resulting in him leaving the music industry for 15 years.

For over ten years he ran a West End theatre in London's Leicester Square (home of the Boy George musical Taboo) as well as a successful ballroom and Latin dancing club, returning to the music scene in 2002 with the album About Time.

After touring and recording with Mike + The Mechanics, and a spell with Scottish supergroup Four Good Men, Owen Paul became the lead vocalist for Ex-Simple Minds, with his brother, former Simple Minds drummer Brian McGee.

Owen has three children: Joshua, Olivia and Hannah.

In late 2012, Owen appeared on BBC1’s Watchdog as part of their ‘Rogue Traders’ team.

In January 2014, Owen released "The One", his first official single in the UK since 1987 and available through iTunes, Amazon and Spotify, following this with the release of the album About Time II in the autumn of the same year.

To celebrate the 30th Anniversary of his 1986 hit he released two new versions, My Favourite Waste of Time Part One and My Favourite Waste Of Time Part Two, along with various dance remixes. The Acoustic 80s EP was released in 2017.

The dance version of "Amazing" was remixed by Stonebridge and spent 3 weeks in the Music Week Club Charts in 2018. He tours as a solo artist and with his 80s Show, and played all the Let's Rock 80's festivals in 2019.

"Sleeping on the Same Pillow" (featuring Lynne Johnstone) - released in January 2020 - was the first release from his  Americana/country album Overblown Superstar which was released in the autumn. "Beauty of the Sun" was recorded entirely in lockdown and was released in the summer of 2020.

Also in 2020 he recorded a new version of My Favourite Waste of Time featuring Glen Matlock (Sex Pistols), ToyahCarol Decker (T'pau), comedian Matt LucasLeee John (Imagination), Cheryl Baker (The Fizz), Celtic folk legends Phil Cunningham and John McCusker, session pros Gary BarnacleJudd Lander and Matt Backer, Mick MacNeil from Simple Minds, Ezio, Bruce Watson from Big Country, members of The AlarmJake Burns from Stiff Little FingersTerry McDermott (The Voice runner up), and many many more.

Each guest improvised, recorded and filmed their parts remotely from their own lockdown situations.

Artists | That Was Then ... This Is Now

bottom of page