top of page

Videos | That Was Then ... This is Now

The Fizz


The Fizz - formerly Bucks Fizz - are a British pop group that achieved success in the 1980s, most notably for winning the 1981 Eurovision Song Contest with the song "Making Your Mind Up". The group was formed in January 1981 specifically for the contest and comprised four vocalists: Bobby GCheryl BakerMike Nolan and Jay Aston. They achieved instant attention with the dance routine which accompanied the song, involving a skirt-rip. The group went on to have a successful career around the world (albeit ignored in the United States), while the UK remained their biggest market, where they had three No.1 singles with "Making Your Mind Up" (1981), "The Land of Make Believe" (1981) and "My Camera Never Lies" (1982) and became one of the top-selling groups of the 1980s. They also had UK Top 10 hits with "Now Those Days Are Gone" (1982), "If You Can't Stand the Heat" (1982), "When We Were Young" (1983) and "New Beginning (Mamba Seyra)" (1986). Their worldwide record sales have exceeded 15 million.

After re-launching as "The Fizz" the group released their first studio album in over thirty years in September 2017. 'The f - Z of Pop', produced by Mike Stock, hit 25 in the UK Official Album Chart - the band's first chart success in three decades and was BBC Radio 2's Album Of The Week during the week of release. 

In 2019, the group completed recording for a third studio album with Mike Stock following Christmas with The Fizz in 2018. 'Smoke & Mirrors 'was released on March 6th and entered the Official Album Charts at number 29 and achieved higher positions in both the Official Sales Charts and Official Vinyl Charts, reaching number 5 and 6 respectively.

Artists | That Was Then ... This Is Now

bottom of page